• 0

Montenegro joins countries condemning alleged crimes committed in Bucha

The declaration expresses full solidarity with Ukraine and the Ukrainian people

  • 0
Zastava Crna gora Ukrajina

Photo: Pixabay

Montenegro has joined the European Union in "condemning Russian crimes committed in Bucha and other Ukrainian cities."

"The European Union condemns in the strongest possible terms the reported atrocities committed by the Russian Armed Forces in a number of occupied Ukrainian towns, that have now been liberated. Haunting images of large numbers of civilian deaths and casualties, as well as destruction of civilian infrastructures show the true face of the brutal war of aggression Russia is waging against Ukraine and its people," said the EU declaration.

It added that "the massacres in the town of Bucha and other Ukrainian towns will be inscribed in the list of atrocities committed on European soil."

"The Russian authorities are responsible for these atrocities, committed while they had effective control of the area. The perpetrators of war crimes and other serious violations as well as the responsible government officials and military leaders will be held accountable," the document said, and added:

"The European Union supports all measures to ensure accountability for human rights violations and violations of international humanitarian law in Ukraine by Russian Armed Forces."

"In particular, we fully support the investigation launched by the ICC Prosecutor into war crimes and crimes against humanity as well as the work of the OHCHR Commission of Inquiry. The EU is assisting the Ukrainian Prosecutor General and Civil Society focused on collection and preservation of the evidences of the war crimes," the declaration said.

The declaration also expresses complete solidarity with Ukraine and the Ukrainian people.

"The EU will continue to firmly support Ukraine and will advance, as a matter of urgency, work on further sanctions against Russia. President Putin must stop this war immediately and unconditionally," said the EU.

Apart from Montenegro, the EU declaration was also supported by EU membership candidates North Macedonia and Albania, as well as Bosnia and Herzegovina. EFTA countries Iceland, Liechtenstein and Norway, members of the European Economic Area, as well as Ukraine, Moldova and Georgia.

Video: Thick smoke billows above the Ukrainian port: Ukrainians claim to have destroyed a Russian warship


Podelite vest:

Pošaljite nam Vaše snimke, fotografije i priče na broj telefona +381 64 8939257 (WhatsApp / Viber / Telegram).

Telegraf.rs zadržava sva prava nad sadržajem. Za preuzimanje sadržaja pogledajte uputstva na stranici Uslovi korišćenja.


Da li želite da dobijate obaveštenja o najnovijim vestima?

Možda kasnije